Shikha Tandon and Manasi Prasad
share Young Achiever 2006 award

From L to R: Mr M. R. Jaishankar—MD, Brigade Group; Mrs Githa Jaishankar— Chairperson, Brigade Foundation; Manasi Prasad and Shikha Tandon (with the trophies—joint winners of Young Achiever 2006); Chief Guest Mr Srikanth Chatrapathy—District Governor (Rotary District 3190); Mr Quresh Merchant—President, Rotary Bangalore Midtown
Mr M. R. Jaishankar presenting a certificate and a special prize of
Rs 20,000 to Basavaraj Horaddi for his outstanding achievement in the field of special sports for the disabled

The winners of the Young Achiever 2006 award, instituted by Rotary Bangalore Midtown & Brigade Group, were announced at a function held at the MLR Convention Centre, J. P. Nagar, on 28 October. Chief Guest Srikanth M. Chatrapathy (District Governor, Rotary District 3190) presented trophies and citations to joint-winners Shikha Tandon and Manasi Prasad. M.R. Jaishankar, MD, Brigade Group, then presented each winner a cheque for Rs 50,000. A special award of Rs 20,000 was given to Basavaraj T. Horaddi.

National swimmer Shikha Tandon has a string of impressive national and international records, awards and outstanding achievements, including being the only Indian swimmer at the 2004 Olympic Games at Athens. Sharing the award with Shikha Tandon was Manasi Prasad, who has exceptional achievements in the fields of academics and music. Her excellent academic record includes being among the top 10 students across IIMs to receive the Aditya Birla Scholarship. Manasi is a gifted vocalist in Karnatak music and has performed over 500 concerts. Basavaraj T. Horaddi was presented a special cash prize in recognition of his achievements in the field of special sports for the physically challenged. He has represented India at several international paralympic sports meets.

While addressing the gathering, M.R. Jaishankar expressed a sense of satisfaction at the success of the state-wide search as it came to a close. “The purpose of instituting this award was to identify inspiring personalities amongst the youth today, and to encourage their achievements.” Chief Guest Srikanth M. Chatrapathy, was full of praise when speaking of the two winners, and stressed the importance of hard work and passion in order to succeed in one's respective field.

Manasi Prasad, in her acceptance speech, humbly received the award as a responsibility, of having set the benchmark and to continue to strive to achieve a higher level of brilliance in whatever she does. Shikha Tandon left the audience with a tremendous sense of awe, with her speech that spoke about the necessity to enjoy what one does, being the key to excel and shine in anything one chooses to pursue.

Everything has beauty
but not everyone sees it.
 Young Achiever 2011
 Young Achiever 2010
 Young Achiever 2009
 Young Achiever 2008
 Young Achiever 2007
 Young Achiever 2006
 Award ceremony photos
 Profiles of the winners
 Press Clippings

The award  Eligibility  How to apply  The process  Rules  Organisers  FAQs Contact us  In the news   Designed by 
Rotary International Brigade Group Rotary Bangalore Midtown